Mirfield Stags secured Yorkshire Cup glory with victory over Drighlington in a keenly-contested Final on Sunday.

The Stags had booked their place in the showpiece fixture, held at Featherstone’s LD Nutrition Stadium, thanks to victories over Normanton and Doncaster Toll Bar.

Drig has secured their own spot in the Final with an impressive win away at Upton.

But though Mirfield headed into the fixture as favourites, after having won their last ten fixtures in all competitions, Richard Silverwood and his players were under no illusions about the size of the task in front of them.

But following weeks of eager anticipation, the Stags started the game on the front foot and took the lead on nine minutes, when Brad Delaney’s pass found Ryan Fenton.

Connor Squires added the goal to make it 6-0 and moments later Ben Kendall’s break through midfield laid the platform for Casey Canterbury to race over.

Squires was once again on target to make it 12-0, but Drig hit back and scored their first try when Macauley Bucci squeezed over, and Michael Sanderson’s goal reduced Mirfield’s advantage to six.

But Silverwood’s side re-established their dominance when Canterbury this time turned provider, slipping through the defence to take Mirfield close.

Then, on the next play, the ball was worked left to allow Mikey Otty to crash over in the corner.

Squires was unable to convert on this occasion, restricting the Stags’ lead to ten at the break.

And Drig put themselves back to within one score 13 minutes after the restart when Ryan Wilks crashed onto a short ball, for Sanderson to convert.

But despite seeing Wayne Jowett sin-binned in the first half and Brad Delaney dismissed in the closing moments, the Mirfield defence stood resolute to hold on to their lead and lift the first trophy of the season.

Stags squad: 1 Connor Squires, 2 Lewis Holliday, 3 Ryan Fenton, 4 Dom Flanagan, 5 Mikey Otty, 6 Omar Alrawi, 7 Brad Delaney, 8 Andy Berry, 9 Casey Canterbury, 10 Ben Kendall, 11 Craig Miles, 12 Scott Bradley, 13 Jonno Hellings. Subs: 14 Lewis Hardy, 15 Wayne Wilson, 16 Micky Hoyle, 17 Wayne Jowett.